International Ice Hockey Federation

USA trims roster

USA trims roster

Last player to be cut on Christmas Eve

Published 25.04.2017 09:17 GMT-4 | Author Martin Merk
USA trims roster
The Team USA players listen to their national anthem after winning the bronze medal game at the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship. Photo: Matt Zambonin / HHOF-IIHF Images
Team USA trimmed its camp roster for the 2017 IIHF World Junior Championship to 24 players. One more player will be cut on 24th December.

The team will continue its camp in Oshawa and play the last exhibition game against the Czech Republic in Kingston on 23rd December before the final roster containing 20 skaters and three goaltenders will be announced.

With four days left until the start of the World Juniors three forwards were cut from the current roster: Brock Boeser, Logan Brown and Alex DeBrincat.

“We knew coming into the camp that decisions would be difficult and that is a testament to these quality players and the talent pool available to us in the United States,” said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2017 U.S. National Junior Team and also the assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey.

“There are still some decisions to be made, but as a staff we are pleased by the team's continued chemistry and unity that head coach Bob Motzko first started back in August.”

The current roster includes three players from last year’s bronze-winning team including defencemen Chad Krys, Charlie McAvoy and forward Colin White.

Camp roster as of 22nd December

Jake Oettinger, Boston University (HEA)
Tyler Parsons, London Knights (OHL)
Joseph Woll, Boston College (HEA)

Jack Ahcan, St. Cloud State University (NCHC)
Joe Cecconi, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Casey Fitzgerald, Boston College (HEA)
Adam Fox, Harvard University (ECAC Hockey)
Caleb Jones, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Chad Krys, Boston University (HEA)
Ryan Lindgren, University of Minnesota (Big Ten)
Charlie McAvoy, Boston University (HEA)

Joey Anderson, University of Minnesota Duluth (NCHC)
Kieffer Bellows, Boston University (HEA)
Jeremy Bracco, Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
Erik Foley, Providence College (HEA)
Jordan Greenway, Boston University (HEA)
Patrick Harper, Boston University (HEA)
Clayton Keller, Boston University (HEA)
Luke Kunin, University of Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Tanner Laczynski, Ohio State University (Big Ten)
Jack Roslovic, Manitoba Moose (AHL)
Troy Terry, University of Denver (NCHC)
Tage Thompson, University of Connecticut (HEA)
Colin White, Boston College (HEA)

Head Coach:
Bob Motzko


Back to Overview